Learn GREEK with Easy Online Lessons... (ad)

Sharing The Greek-American Experience

Greek Island and Mainland Travel Map


Regions of Greece

From 1833 to 1836 and 1845 to 2010, Greece was subdivided by prefectures (νομοί, sing. νομός) which were the country's main administrative unit. They are now called departments and are subdivided into 74 regional units. The areas indicated on the map below, Macedonia, Thrace, Epirus, Thessaly, Northeast Aegean Islands, Sporades, Ionian Islands, Sterea Hellas - Central Greece, Attic - Athens, Cyclades, Peloponnese, Argo-Saronic, Dodecanese, and Crete, offer varying travel experiences from the nightlife of mainland Athens to the cool breezes of the islands.

Travel Resources

Check out the locations in Greece and our Greek travel resources. We also list travel books and travel accessories available on Amazon.

Travel Map

Roll your mouse over each name on the map to view the corresponding travel area. Then, click to view additional information about that area. Use a full-size browser, or, go directly to our locations page.

Map of Greece
Northeast Aegean Islands Argo Saronic Attica Crete Cyclades Dodecanese Epirus Ionian Islands Macedonia Peloponnese Sporades Sterea Hellas Thessaly Thrace