Learn GREEK with Easy Online Lessons... (ad)


More Festivals at EthnicFun.com...

Sharing The Greek-American Experience

Greek Currency from Drachma to Euro

Greek Currency

The euro (€) has been the official currency of Greece since 2001. This currency is used by most European Union Member States including Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain, as well as some other European countries.

The Drachma

Prior to the euro, the Greek currency was the drachma. The modern drachma was subdivided into 100 lepton. The plural of lepton it lepta, so you may have one lepton or 20 lepta. Coins were available in denominations of 10, 20, and 50 lepta, and 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, and 500 drachma. Banknotes (paper money) was available in denominations of 100, 200, 500, 1000, 5000, 10000 drachma.

About the Euro

The euro was introduced in 1999, at which time, the independent European Central Bank (ECB) became responsible for the monetary policies of the euro. Coins are available in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and 50 euro cents, and 1 and 2 euros. Banknotes (paper money) is available in denominations of 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, and 500 euros. Visit the European Commission Economic and Financial Affairs euro page of the Europa website for more information regarding the Euro.